What happened

There’s always a risk of embarrassing yourself whenever you publicly announce you will do something and don’t follow through. For example, when you tell all three of your readers about wanting to participate in an international program to teach English abroad. Instead, you decide that Melbourne is your home and you would much prefer life here.

If it isn’t obvious already, I’m talking about myself and my announcement earlier this year. I never bothered explaining it until now.

Friends and acquittances have heard on multiple occasions about my desire to relocate to Japan. There’s still a large part of me that longs to be there but the odds are not favourable right now. The challenges of living alone abroad in a foreign country alone is difficult enough, let alone hoping that a teaching role would eventually lead to a more relevant field of work.

Another reason I decided against this initial decision is because of recent developments at work. There is currently a position available that is more aligned with my business background. Furthermore, it is a global company so it is reasonable to assume there is greater opportunities to move up. With our headquarters in Japan, it is also quite possible I will be able to travel there for work. This also begs the question “why Japan?” but I will save the answer for another update.

In the mean time, I have chosen to build my career with this company here in Australia. I work directly with a diverse group of interesting individuals and apply my skills in a practical way. It’s a fast-paced environment and makes the day go faster. Obviously there are many challenges involved, as evident in my previous updates, but that’s the same with any job.

Even if one day you find yourself self-employed or the boss of a large corporation, there will always be some kind of hurdle ahead. I believe the key to overcoming those difficulties is to maintain a positive mentality, remembering your priorities in life and finding contentment.

Right now that is how I feel, content.

Say Hi

