Getting A Japanese Visa

After much delay, I took the plunge yesterday night and bought my plane ticket.

It may not a big deal for seasoned travellers but I felt overwhelmed. This the first time I’m travelling alone and honestly, I’m not used to making these type of decisions on my own.

Another reason which caused the delay was because of my visa.

It’s a known fact that having visa is as important as purchasing a plane ticket. Each country has its own rules when granting visas to foreigners.

These rules are changes frequently and as such, my university was reluctant to offer advice with this part of the application process.

For this reason, I want to share my experiences of getting a student visa in Japan. Perhaps another applicant will find this post useful.

Well, my journey started when I sent my application form to my host university in December 2014. They included a Certificate of Eligibility form. Any foreigners intending to stay in Japan are required to fill this, the exception being temporary visitors of course.

This form required me to state my intention for visiting Japan. In addition, prove I have sufficient funds for the duration of my stay.

I had a little trouble explaining my method of payment in Japan. Even though I have a financial supporter, I’m financially prepared to pay for most things myself.

My coordinator and I managed to sort it out in the end; we wanted to make sure it was perfect before sending it off. From there, my host university filed my CoE to the Immigrations Office in Nagoya.

It was approved and sent off to my university at the beginning of February. After picking it up, I handed in my visa application to the Consulate-General of Japan in Melbourne.

My host university warned me that it may take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks to receive my passport back. I was a little concerned because I intend to travel beforehand.

Thankfully they were really efficient; I only waited one week for my visa to be ready. Above all, it was free of charge!

With my visa sorted and my tickets purchased, my application process to study abroad is finally. Now the real fun begins…

Say Hi

