Decisions

Another day, another adventure.

I received some information about the housing options available to me whilst I’m in Nagoya. I’m currently tossed up between two choices: a dormitory and a shared house.

Both have their own perks and drawbacks.

In terms of distance from my host university, it’s the same – one hour and a half via public transport. However, the dormitory is located in the heart of the city, whereas the the shared house is situated in a quiet area of Nagoya. This is reflected in the rent with the shared house being approximately AUD$450 cheaper.

I was initially drawn to the dormitory as I will have a space to call my own. Nonetheless, my recent financial situation has made me reconsider my decision.

After the excitement from yesterday died down, I felt a little anxious about my trip. I began to worry about managing my money and meeting new people.

The concept of living in a shared house is new to me. Aside from family, I have never lived with outsiders for a prolonged period of time. There’s also the prospect of socially awkward situation; I’m terrible at confrontations.

Rationally speaking, it’s the smarter choice. Firstly, I will have my own room whilst having direct contact with local students. If I want to improve my Japanese, this might be the best way. The distance from the shopping centre may also stop me from overspending.

The idea of having someone around after a long day at school is quite comforting.

In the process of writing this post, I decided to select the shared house as my first preference. There are only four spots available for the shared house. So I will leave it to the university make the decision for me.

I’ll keep you all posted on how it goes!

Say Hi

