Taipei 2014: Xindian (新店)

Looking back now, the first few days of my trip was rather uneventful. Aside from the unplanned lunch and dinner appointments, we didn’t do much.  It defeated the purpose of arriving early but on the bright side, we tasted a lot of good food.

We stayed near Bitan in Xindian District. There isn’t too much to look at aside from the suspension bridge, which comes alive (only) at night. There is also some paddle boats available for rent along the river bay.

This area is a good distance from the hustle and bustle of the city but is still very lively. On the afternoon we had free to ourselves, we took a walk around Bitan. Here are the resulting photos. As usual, hover over the photos for additional information!

We took subway to get to one of our appointments one night. I’m really impressed with the MRT system in Taipei. It is clean, efficient, logical and reliable. Everything that anyone could ever ask for in public transport.

Once you get the hang of it, travelling around Taipei is easy. You just look at the stop you need to go to and it tells you the amount it costs. After payment, you will receive a ticket chip which you will use to “tap on”. On the way out, you just insert the coin into the terminal. We payed 30 TWD at most for a one way trip, which is approximately 1.15 AUD.

On the note of public transport, the cars on the Taipei’s road are crazy. During one of our rides, our taxi driver drove on the opposite of the road for a good five second or so. I can now understand how my Taiwanese friend managed to crash her car a week after getting her license.

The smell of the exhaust on the streets is pretty strong, I felt my lungs darken a bit. Also, motorbikes are everywhere. They tend drive on the walkways, so watch out when you’re out and about!

On the way home, we walked by a bakery. I noticed that there are a lot of western-style bakeries in Taiwan. They all have beautiful decors and their baked goods looks equally appealing.

I didn’t get a chance to try anything from their bakeries this trip, so it’s on the top of my to-do list for my next visit. Papaya milk as well! I really want to try that.

2 comments

  1. Tiff · April 26, 2014

    I love Taiwan! I only just got back in Feb but these photos make me want to go back already :(.

    • Vivien · April 26, 2014

      I feel exactly the same way :(

Say Hi

