All work and no play

I submitted my study plan on Thursday and now it’s time to play the waiting game. It’s ironic because I don’t have any time to play.

The past month has been full on and it sounds crazy, but I’m enjoying it. This will probably be my last proper year at uni, so I want the  full experience by testing my limit. Speaking of which, I started work last month.

My new job has been interesting. We opened last Wednesday and it has been crazy. The type of work involved isn’t difficult but there is so much to do. A lot of the time I feel out of the loop. I’m getting the hang of things now, so that’s a major relief. It’s been fun seeing our store come together. When we started, there was nothing but boxes and dust. Now everything is set up and customers are flocking in each day. This is something I will never experience again and I’m very grateful to be a part of it. I’ve also made a lot of new friends along the way, so it will be difficult when our contract ends.

With that said, I’m uncertain whether I want to continue working there. A major issue is the odd hours and the long commute. I still need to get my license, so I’ve had to rely on my family the past two weeks. The pay is good though. If I’m offered a permanent position, I will have to rearrange my availability.

4 comments

  1. Hilary · April 22, 2014

    Ooh I’ll have to visit you at your work place one day! :)

    • Vivien · April 23, 2014

      Hehe, come soon! I usually work towards the end of the week : )

  2. Mai · April 23, 2014

    Good luck at your job! I’ve never helped open a business before, but I’m sure it’s a great experience. Hopefully you’ll get offered a permanent position ^^

    • Vivien · April 23, 2014

      Thank-you Mai! : )

Say Hi

