On the Road

After much delay, I finally started learning how to drive. Now that I’m older, I have more commitments and not having a driver’s licence is proving to be a major pain. The matter will only get worse because I’ll be based in two different campuses in the upcoming semester. Additionally, my workplace is located in the city. What did I get myself into?

There’s still four months before this problem reaches its climax, which doesn’t leave me a lot of time. In Australia, new drivers under 21 are required to log 120 hours of practise. Yes, you read that correctly: 120 hours. Above is my current number of hours, you can do the maths. Of course the sooner I get my licence the better but I have the option of waiting it out until my birthday in June.

So far driving has been an enjoyable experience. As I’ve been told, it really isn’t that hard. However, it can be stressful; you have to be on your toes at all times. Despite that, I still enjoy getting behind the wheels.

5 comments

  1. kitfinite · December 13, 2013

    The log book looks so different compared to the one I got! But then I did get mine like a few years(?) ago!

    • Vivien · December 15, 2013

      Hahah, really? Although, I wouldn’t be surprised if they changed again since I got mine. You’re so lucky you’re done with log books!

    • kitfinite · December 17, 2013

      Yeah pretty happy without the log books, haha. :)

  2. Jacqui · December 14, 2013

    Ah, I got my L’s in march and I haven’t done too much driving. Only just over 20 hours in total. 20 down 100 to go. This is going to take a life time.
    Driving when I’m in a good mood is kinda fun though :p

    • Vivien · December 15, 2013

      That’s pretty good! I got mine over a year and a half ago… hahaha, so you’re leaps and bounds ahead.

      Hope you manage to get the rest of your hours soon : )

Say Hi

