The First Hurdle

Yesterday S and I visited Main Campus to begin the arduous process of becoming foreign exchange students. As it turns out, the application process to  study Japan is overlooked by the School of Languages, Culture and Linguistics. Due to limited number available, they only offer the opportunity to students studying Japanese.

I was devastated because nothing I could do. Regardless of how hard I work, who I talk to or how much I want to go, I don’t stand a chance. I got teary-eyed. Then, a miracle happened.

They told me about a university in Japan that I can apply to: “NUCB”. My face lit up immediately. I scribbled the name and began researching as soon as I got home.

NUCB, otherwise known as Nagoya University of Commerce and Business (名古屋商科大学), is a private university located Nisshin in Aichi Prefecture.

Although this is my only option, I was a little hesitant. You have to understand, I had my heart set on going to a university near Tokyo. Furthermore, I haven’t much about this university before. Japan is an expensive country to live in and the estimated cost of studying abroad is approximately $10,000 in total. I do not have this money and although I will do my best to save, I will need my family’s assistance. In addition, I will need to restructure my course and possibly delaying graduation.

I went to bed that night conflicted. As I got thinking, I became more worried. My family has been very supportive of this decision but I had difficulty justifying the strain I might put them through. I ended up crying.

After calming down, I realised how much this mattered to me and how much I resentment I will feel if I didn’t go. It doesn’t matter which university I studied at or how it will impact the duration of my course, the life lessons I will learn is invaluable. I may even learn a thing or two about myself.

So that settles it, I am seeing my course advisor next Wednesday to restructure my unit selection.

This is just the beginning of an amazing life adventure and I can’t give up so easily. I will do everything I can to ensure that this dream becomes a reality.

4 comments

  1. catchmyflyingsoul · November 24, 2013

    this is so exciting viv!!!
    it’ll definitely be an amazing experience and adventure :-)

    • Vivien · November 24, 2013

      Thank-you! : )
      I’m praying everything will work out with my unit selection… or else there will be “The Second Hurdle” next week hahaah

  2. Hilary · November 24, 2013

    Aw good luck Viv! I hope everything works out for you! :)

    • Vivien · November 24, 2013

      Thanks Hilary! : ) I hope so too

Say Hi

