Aspirations

Last Friday marked my final day as a second-year uni student. It’s hard to believe I’m already half-way through my double-degree. If anyone’s curious, I’m majoring marketing and public relations. The two fields goes well together and I genuinely believe I chose the right course.

I participated in a student forum last month. It was very informative however I found myself more perplexed about my career since then. Many of the guest speakers encouraged students to be more proactive in the industry that interest them. This profession is competitive and a bachelor’s degree is not sufficient. I’ve taken this notion to heart and I’m desperately trying to figure out what I want to do.

Fortunately, I’ve been working on a student-led project. To cut a long story short, it is a local community engagement program. It gives me the feel-good vibe but I question the possibility of community planning becoming my specialty.

If there’s anything I’ve learnt in the past year, it is to take life one step at a time. It’s important to have goals to work towards but don’t get too caught up in the process. Sometimes the answer is right there.

Taking from what I’ve just said, I think I will put aside my worries and just focus on this project. Whatever will be will be! It is a good experience any way.

Speaking of experiences, I want to study abroad in Japan. I studied Japanese throughout high school and although I wasn’t very good, it was something I enjoyed. In addition, I’ve never been there. Studying abroad and visiting Japan is on my bucket list, so why not hit two birds with one stone?

I plan to go during the spring semester of 2015, which means I have one year to save up for flight tickets and additional living expenses. I don’t care how hard I’ll have to work but I’m doing this.

3 comments

  1. kitfinite · October 29, 2013

    When you go to Japan can you pack me in your suitcase? :P

    • Vivien · October 29, 2013

      Sure thing. I’ll pack light in that case (; Hahaha!

    • kitfinite · October 29, 2013

      Hehe yay!! Vivien’s and Kitty’s trip to Japan – HERE WE COME :)

Say Hi

