Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first.

– Ernestine Ulmer

I’ve been meaning to blog all month but I didn’t get around to it until now- oops! In between studying and tending to my other commitments, I visited Waya Japanese Restaurant in Glen Waverley. To simply put it, it was very average. I ordered the veggie bento and everything was coated with oil, worst of all: the rice was soggy. Isn’t Japanese cuisine all about good rice? I’m not impressed. In all fairness, their signature dessert platter was nice. Nothing special but still nice. All in all, I still prefer to dine across the street at Monga.

On the topic of Monga, I finally went to Monga Dessert Lounge in Box Hill. My cousin raved about their sesame waffle and we ended up going there after dinner the other night. We had to wait a little while but it was nice knowing it was fresh. Unlike certain chocolate bars, read: Max Brenner. I forgot to take a photo but it wasn’t anything out of the ordinary. It’s just a deliciously large waffle coated with black sesame syrup and  topped with a scoop of black sesame ice-cream. Perfect for two. It’s a little bit too sweet but I could taste the sesame – that is all that matters.

The highlight of my dessert rampage is my visit to LuxBite in South Yarra. I’ve been wanting to go there for the longest time. My friends said many wonderful things about their desserts, I couldn’t wait to try it out myself. It’s pricey but it’s worth it. E and I split two desserts, “Meringue Monster” and “Be My Love”. We also ordered the a salted caramel hot chocolate each. To my disappointment, our drinks was a little too salty. With that said, I will gladly go back there any day and empty my wallets in exchange for a few of their dessert.

Say Hi

