Black Sugar and Red Dates Tea

It’s almost Winter in Melbourne and the temperature has been getting lower each day. On cold days like these, I like to warm myself up with a cup of black sugar and red dates tea. My mum introduced me to this delicious concoction a while a go and I’ve been treating myself with it every since. Unlike regular sugar, black sugar is packed with minerals and is incredibly beneficial to your health. It energises you on those long days and for the ladies, it help ease cramps. Furthermore, it’s really easy to make and tastes delicious. So let’s get to it!

You will need (serves 2):

  • Water – approx. 2 metric cup
  • Black sugar (黑糖) –  flavour to taste
  • Dried red dates (红枣) –  x10
  • Dried goji berries  (枸子) – x10
  • Dried lychees (龙眼) – x10

With the water, red dates, goji berries and dried lychee inside a small pot, bring the water to a boil. Once ready, take the water off the heat and add a few spoonful of black sugar. Personally I like adding two to four spoons of black sugar but there’s no set amount, so don’t hesitate to flavour to taste.

This specific recipe is enough to serve two, so you can always halve the ingredients and make a single serving. I just prefer making a two serves, so I can save the extra cup for later. There’s quite a variety of ingredients above but the only ingredient needed is the black sugar, so don’t worry if you don’t have any red dates/goji berries/dried lychees lying around.

If you are busy and have no time, there’s also another super easy way of making this. Just fill a travel-safe thermos with the ingredients and add hot water. To help the water infuse with the red dates, make sure you cut it in half. Then let it sit for a while and drink when you are ready.

Unfortunately I’ve been too busy to take any photos of the ingredients but I will upload one when I get the chance. I hope you will enjoy it!

4 comments

  1. Shen · May 15, 2013

    This sounds interesting! I don’t think I’ve ever had this. I look forward to the pictures when you get a chance to add them in!

    • Vivien · May 20, 2013

      Thanks! Hopefully my new camera will arrive soon and I can update this post, haha

  2. Hilary · May 16, 2013

    My mum makes me something similar sometimes! It’s really good. (:

    • Vivien · May 20, 2013

      Agreed, and the fact that it’s so easy to make is a major bonus too!

Say Hi

