FujiFilm Instax Mini 8

Before my resigning, I made one last major purchase – you know, as a commemoration of the sort. Everybody, please say ‘hello’ to my brand new polaroid camera, Chocobo!

I’ve been looking into polaroid cameras for quite a while now. I had my eyes on the Mini 7s but after a quick search, I found out FujiFilm were releasing a newer series early 2013 so I decided to be patient and wait. I paid around AUD $139 for the camera and 5 packs of film (inclusive of shipping.) A single pack of 10 films costs around $8, so I think I got myself a really good bargain.

Aside from a wider variety of colours (white, blue, pink, yellow, black), I’ve noticed the body of the Mini 8 is more compact and sleek. As a result, the Mini 8 has a smaller film capacity- 10 if we’re being specific. The adjustment dial has also been redesigned, so taking high-key photos is a lot easier with this model. Apart from that, the specs are pretty much identical to the 7s.

Albeit fun, taking polaroid pictures is a challenging and costly hobby. I guess with all negative things, there’s always a silver lining. The constraint of having a limited amount of films forces you to think thoroughly about the composition and the lighting of your shot. I also feel that there’s something very organic about taking polaroid pictures; no two shots are ever exactly the same. I can’t wait until I have a disposable income, I will definitely spend more time exploring this form of photography.

On an unrelated note, I tried to give this blog a facelift. In the process of that, I managed revamped the logo instead. A few people didn’t realise the logo was a panda until I mentioned it. If it wasn’t obvious enough before, it is obvious enough now! That aside, there’s definitely more work to be done in terms of the current layout. But that will have to wait until I’m done with my course work …

2 comments

  1. Hilary · April 22, 2013

    I love the colour of your camera! Film is pretty expensive but the photos make up for it. (:

    • Vivien · April 25, 2013

      Thanks! I had a pretty tough time deciding which colours to get, but I guess I made the right decision huh? Hahaha.

Say Hi

