Visiting Walhalla

As voted by Hilary and Shen, this week’s post will be about my trip to Walhalla over Labour Day weekend. I haven’t been to Walhalla before, so I was really looking forward to sight seeing. Unfortunately I was preoccupied with a committee training, so my short visit was cut even shorter. However, we managed to make a stop at the main attractions.

You may be wondering where Walhalla is. Well, Walhalla is a peaceful little town near Mount Baw Baw – a tourist hot spot for skiing. It took us two hours to get there and luckily for me, I didn’t have to do any of the driving (phew!) To make the most of our time, we went for a little hike up along the hill to the gold mine in Walhalla.

The scenery along the way was incredibly serene, albeit too sunny for my liking. There aren’t many people or buildings in Walhalla, it felt like we were somewhere frozen in time.

We were exhausted by the time we arrived, so we all decided called it quits and make our way back along the other side of the hill. On our way, we took some time to look around and take in the beautiful sight. We also saw some interesting machineries that were (probably) used when the gold mine was still in operation.

The highlight of the trip for me was visiting the Horseshoe Bend Tunnel. The hike down was quite easy but it was a different story getting back to the car park. It took a day or so for my leg muscles to stop aching but it was well worth the pain and sweat.

We decided to have a picnic nearby the tunnel, unfortunately the only place that we could sit and have our lunch appeared to be on the other side of the river. Thankfully there was a large slab of rocks between the two riverbed. Feeling adventurous, we made our way across the river… barefooted*. It was really challenging and the heat wasn’t much help. Having said that, it was one of the most memorable thing we did during this trip. I think I’ve taken a liking to nature walks now – I just have to remember to wear the appropriate footwear!

A large majority of our time was spent in our lodge at Rawson Caravan Park. Their bar/bistro is pretty cool, definitely worth visiting if you are in need of something delicious. It seems pretty popular amongst bikies too.

The locals also seem quite found of alpacas. We saw two grazing across the street from the nearby nursery.

Before we left, we made a quick drive-by to Thomson Reservoir – the third largest reservoir in Australia. It was breathtaking, and the best possible sight to end our short but sweet visit.

* – It was so hot my mum and I decided to wear flats instead of sneakers. We’ll never learn.

I forgot to mention something INCREDIBLY important: The World Is Not Scary has a Facebook page now! I would really appreciate it if you could just head over there and give it a quick like.

I’ve also made an account over at Bloglovin. So subscribing to this blog for users of other platforms is a lot easier now! Click here to follow.

2 comments

  1. colezoe · April 6, 2013

    I loved reading your post, it’s so well written :) I’m new to blogging, I’d love it if you could read my post on Skydiving in Australia :) http://mylifemybubble.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed-skydiving-definitely-isnt-for-you/

    • Vivien · April 7, 2013

      Thank-you! :) I shall do that right away.

Say Hi

