Chapter 3 – Part 3 : Leaving Cameron Highlands

As I mentioned in my previous post, Cameron Highland is home to most of the vegetables grown in Malaysia. So it’s only common sense to purchase some local produce before heading home.

It seems like we weren’t the only ones who felt the same ways. Markets like these are quite common in Malaysia but be careful when you cross the street because there might be cars driving right behind you. Make sure to keep an eye out your handbags too!

Just like the stalls at Lata Iskandar, there are a lot of snacks for sale. The corn on cobs were the juiciest and sweetest corn I have ever tasted, and I don’t even like corn that much. I think my opinion on corn may change if I visited Cameron Highland on a regular basis.

If you prefer, fresh corn can also be purchased. It’s so fresh that the corn silk is still attached, I was tempted to buy one because it reminded me of Mei from My Neighbour Totoro.

In addition, there were also plenty of other fresh veggies up for sale. Such as radishes, carrots and cauliflowers.

As you can see, they sell a variety of cauliflowers- many of them larger than the size of my head. I love eating cauliflower but I am ashamed to say I didn’t know that they grow in other colours. I wonder if they taste the same, like whether the pink oyster mushroom from Genting Highland would taste like regular  oyster mushroom. Anyone mind shedding some light on this topic?

That is it for chapter, in fact … we’ve reached Malaysian Adventures 2012! In comparison to the previous two chapter, this one is relatively short. I blame my terrible memory but it really cannot be helped. Hopefully I will do a better job next time! There’s going to be an epilogue for the whole adventure, so come back tomorrow night if you are interested!

One comment

  1. jonathanochart · December 30, 2012

    Gorgeous photos – I feel as if I was there myself! And I love the My Neighbor Totoro reference (:

    – Jonathan I http://styleoverstress.wordpress.com

Say Hi

