The Hardware Sociéte

This Food Adventure is a bit overdue but as they say, “better late than never”.

So about a month ago, my cousin sisters and I went to café called “The Hardware Sociéte”. Like Amigos, this little gem is tucked away along Hardware Lane. I wouldn’t have known about it if my cousin had not recommended it!


From what I’ve been told, the cafe is known for brunch. Unfortunately I was too distracted with ordering that I had forgotten to take a photo of their menu, but if I remember correctly there were quite a few vegetarian options. As you’d expect from a breakfast menu, many of them had egg as their main ingredient. Thankfully, there was one item on the menu that was egg free- The Continental.

The Continental comes with a generously sized croissant , rhubarb stew, yogurt and oats, and any jam of your liking. Just a little note, the rhubarb stew is subject to change- I’ve seen two other versions of The Continental on Urbanspoon. I think this is great, because this means they are use seasonal ingredients and there’s always something different for vegans alike.

It was my first time having yogurts and oats, and I’ve got to say, it’s pretty good. The sweetness of the dried fruits were balanced out by yogurt and the sourness from the rhubarb stew. It was really refreshing! The extra milk came in handy when the yogurt was all gone. Perhaps I should start eating yogurt and oats in Summer.

My favourite though, was definitely the croissant . The outside was incredibly crispy, the photo above is enough to make me salivate. I also have to give credit to them for their choices of jam. My personal favourite was the blueberry jam, which they happen to sell at the counter.

Food aside, I also enjoyed the atmosphere there. Despite being really busy, their staff were still very friendly and helpful. It can get crowded, but they do offer outdoor seating. I’m also a big fan of their use of colours, they also had teacups and tea cosies in a myriad of pastel colours. The little pops of yellow also gave the place quite a cheerful ambiance.

In terms of prices, it’s average. There are many cafes in Melbourne that will charge you more, and their food are no where as good as The Hardware Sociétes. If you’re in staying in Melbourne’s CBD and need somewhere to go for breakfast, I highly recommend you make a visit. Be sure to get there a little earlier, the place fills up quickly.

That about does it for this week’s Food Adventure. I leave you with a photo of a cute Irish pub I stumbled upon- it’s actually right next door, haha!

For more information, please visit the sites below:

http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/1474868/restaurant/CBD/The-Hardware-Societe-Melbourne

https://twitter.com/hardwaresociete

11 comments

  1. kittysramble · August 5, 2012

    The croissant looks delicious in the photo and I want to go into that Irish pub. LOL.

    • iamnotscared · August 5, 2012

      We should go together one day. I’m craving for good croissants!

    • kittysramble · August 5, 2012

      And hopefully a beer too? xD

    • iamnotscared · August 5, 2012

      I’m not sure if croissants and beer mix well, but sure! Why not? Hahaha

    • kittysramble · August 5, 2012

      Looking forward to it :)

  2. shenshennie · August 5, 2012

    The food looks great – I’ve never heard of that place (I’m not a huge city person!) but it sounds like a nice place to just sit back and relax! Lovely pictures <3

    • iamnotscared · August 5, 2012

      It is! I hear their coffee is pretty good, we should get tea there together someday!

    • shenshennie · August 5, 2012

      That sounds like a good idea – we have to add this to our long list of plans to do in the city haha!

    • iamnotscared · August 6, 2012

      Yes! Come to think of it, it would be a good idea to make a physical list. Knowing us, we’d probably forget about it. Hahah

  3. Hilary · August 8, 2012

    Oooh wow. I haven’t been to a cafe in ages. xD The food looks so good. :D

    • iamnotscared · August 8, 2012

      It is! There’s actually a lot of nice cafes on Hardware Lane. We should try them out together! :)

Say Hi

