Gachapon (ガチャポン): Toon Link

I am not one who usually shops, especially on Boxing Day. Simply thinking about huge crowds and the effort involved gives me a headache; I really don’t see the appeal! However, I did end up visiting Fountain Gate with Georgina yesterday.

My beloved Nintendo DS needs replacing, so I popped by some of the nearby gaming stores. To my dismay, none of the 3DS were on offer! But that’s besides the point of today’s post. What I wanted to show-off is my recent purchase: A figurine of Toon Link!

If you haven’t recognised it already, this is from the Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass. I know it’s a bit of a silly purchase but I couldn’t help it- I absolutely love that game. It is the very first game I’ve played from the series. Everything was done so creatively and the storyline was so engaging.

Link is one of the five in the set, with Lineback, Tetra, Daigoron & Maigoron and Phantom completing the rest. Each of them, with the exception of the Gorons, come with some sort of accessory:

  • Link: Phantom Hourglass
  • Lineback: Green rupee (How appropriate!)
  • Tetra: Heart Container
  • Phantom: Force Gem

These are “gachapon” and unless if you were like me and try to peak through the small holes, you will not know which one you have. Priced around $5AUD at Game Traders for one, it’s quite a costly gamble trying to complete the rest of the set. There are completed sets available on eBay but I think that takes away all the fun of getting a gachapon; not to mention they are slightly overpriced online. It’s a safer bet to visit the store yourself and maximise your luck of getting the different ones!

*Produced by TOMY. Gachapon Reference No. 8069

6 comments

  1. shenshennie · December 27, 2011

    Link from Zelda! I’ve only played part of a game from the series but find him adorable anyway. I’d collect figurines if not for the fact that, like you said, it’s hard to complete sets due to the cost ): Great buy though!

    • iamnotscared · December 28, 2011

      Thanks Shen! I’m planning to get a 3DS soon, so hopefully I’ll be able to play Ocarina of Time. You should give Phantom Hourglass or Spirit Tracks a go! The animation is pretty cute. ^^

    • shenshennie · December 30, 2011

      Well it’s the holidays now and I’ve plenty of time. I might try it out, thanks for the reco!

  2. Lily · December 28, 2011

    Aw Link! So cute. :D I’ve been playing Spirit Tracks the past few days. So has my sister. xD

    • iamnotscared · January 3, 2012

      :) How are you finding it?
      I don’t know why but I stopped 3/4 of the way through the game. I think I may restart it again!

    • Lily · January 3, 2012

      It’s good. :) But I stopped after I got up to the fire realm. xD

Say Hi

