Kenzan

As some of you may already know, I recently graduated from high school. My intentions are to study Bachelor of Communications in Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. However, I did not get the required marks for English. Which is why I had to pop by the city campus to ask a few questions regarding the pathway.

Thankfully Caroline was kind enough to accompany me on the day. She was craving Japanese food from our last outing together, so we decided to have lunch at Kenzan. As the name suggests, Kenzan serves Japanese cuisine. It is located in Melbourne’s General Post Office, on the corner of Elizabeth Street and Bourke Street.

Just to clear up any confusion, GPO no longer serves as an office of Australia Post. It became a retail centre after being restored in 2004 and now houses an array of upmarket stores. I’m usually quite intimidated by place like the GPO but I can’t say “no” to potentially good food.

There’s not much to offer in terms of interior design; it was very simple and basic. What they lack in atmosphere, they make up for in their food and customer service.
I had originally ordered the Vegetable Donburi but they weren’t able to make it for me that day, which was rather disappointing. However, I was recommended something even better- their vegetarian yakisoba. The presentation of the dish surpasses many places and that’s saying a lot for a plate of fried noodle! I had a quick glance at Caroline’s obento and it also looked very appetising! If I’m being completely honest, it was more appetising than Izakaya Chuji. Their obento were accompanied by several small appetisers, such as edamame beans and Japanese omelette. To be completely fair though, their obento are set and do not allow you to customise it like Izakaya Chuji- not to mention the price is slightly higher!

For more information, please visit these links:

http://www.melbournesgpo.com//

http://www.kenzan.com.au

Say Hi

